Last updated 22 September, 2020

Press Release: Super Dweeb and the Pencil of Destiny

Meet Super Dweeb, the comic book geek who can doodle his way out of any disaster!

Super Dweeb and the Pencil of Destiny is the first in a hilarious new series by author and cartoonist Jess Bradley, whose stories appear weekly in The Beano and The Phoenix comics.

Andy wishes that he had awesome powers, like the heroes of his home-made comic stories. But instead, he’s stuck in the real world, where he has an annoying little brother, a super-weird teacher… and everyone says he’s a total dweeb.

Then one day, he discovers an oversized, glowing pencil on a school trip to the local toxic waste dump. He starts sketching and finds that he can redraw reality.

Now, thanks to the power of doodling, Andy can bring to life anything that he can imagine, erase his problems, and doodle his way of sticky situations. He’s not just a dweeb… he’s a SUPER DWEEB! Even Mona, the ice cool new girl at school, seems impressed.

But there’s a twist in the tale… because everything goes very wrong when little brother Oscar does some doodling of his own. Now there’s a scribble monster on the loose! Run for it, Andy!

This anarchic adventure story is told with wacky full-colour illustrations and digestible text. The comic-book style storytelling makes Super Dweeb perfect for young or reluctant readers, aged 6-11. If you would like to receive a copy of the book for review purposes or wish to get in contact with Jess Bradley, please use the contact information below.

About The Author

Jess Bradley is a Bristol-based author and illustrator. She writes and illustrates Squid Bits for The Phoenix and also writes for the UK’s longest-running weekly children’s comic, The Beano.

Notes For Editors

  • This is the first title in a series about Super Dweeb’s anarchic adventures.
  • Perfect for young or reluctant readers aged 6-11.
  • For fans of Dog Man and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.
  • Author is available for interview.
  • Proof copies and PDFs available on request.

Publication Details

  • Publication Date: 1st May 2021
  • Format: Paperback
  • UK RRP: £4.99
  • ISBN-13: 9781789502930